The University of Western Australia

List of sanctions - page 2

Ipsum Lorem

Further Information

Associate Director, Admissions


Compliance Assessment Checklist for Autonomous Sanctions:


List of Sanctions under Autonomous Sanctions Regulations 2011 and as amended in 2012 and Autonomous Sanctions Amendment Regulation 2012 continued

4.  Sanctioned Service (regulation 5 & 13)

  • Technical advice, assistance or training,
  • Financial assistance,
  • A financial service, or
  • Another service

In circumstances that assists with, or is provided in relation to:

  • A military activity, or
  • An activity involving the supply, sale, transfer, manufacture, maintenance or use of an export sanctioned good (see above goods listed in the table under (a) sanctioned supply) for the relevant sanctioned country.

The relevant countries are Myanmar, Iran, Syria, Sevastopol, Russia and Zimbabwe.

5.  Designated person or entity (regulation 6, 14 & 15)

It is prohibited to directly or indirectly make an asset available to, or for the benefit of, a designated person or entity. There is currently no definition for ‘assets’, accordingly it is understood that this would include both financial and non-financial assets. For example, it would be an offence for the University to enrol a designated individual as a student, or to enter into a consultancy or other arrangement with a designated entity.

Persons and entities are designated via federal legislative instrument by the Minister, commonly under the title ‘Autonomous Sanctions (Designated Persons and Entities – [COUNTRY]) List 2012’ and in the Consolidated List published by DFAT and amended from time to time.

DFAT publishes and maintains a Consolidated List of individuals and entities that have been designated under both the Autonomous Sanctions framework, and the UNSC Sanctions framework. Relevant staff should check the Consolidated List on a regular basis, as it is frequently updated. Staff can also subscribe to be notified of changes to the List. The List is available at:

Where there is a match with an individual or entity on the List, the Australian Federal Police (‘AFP’) is able to provide assistance with confirming whether an individual or entity is in fact so designated and the relevant asset prohibited. The Compliance team can assist with this process, and can contact the AFP on the University’s behalf if required.

6.  Designated assets (regulation 7 & 15)

It is prohibited to use or deal with an asset which is owned or controlled by certain persons or entities from sanctioned countries. Such assets have to be designated by the Minister under a legislative instrument (to date, no assets have been so designated).

7.  Sanctioned commercial activity (regulation 5A & 13A)

The following commercial activities with Syrian entities are prohibited:


Commercial Activity


  • The acquisition or extension of an interest in, or the establishment of or participation in a joint venture with, or the granting of a financial loan or credit to entities engaged in the Syrian petrochemical industry, various sectors of the oil and gas industry, or an entity in Syria engaged in the construction or installation of new power plants for electricity production;
  • the sale (or otherwise making available) of an interest in a commercial activity in the Australian oil and gas industry (refining of fuels, exploration and production of crude oil and natural gas, and the liquefaction of natural gas) to the government of Syria, a natural person or resident in Iran, or an entity formed or incorporated in Syria;
  • the setting up in Australia of a representative office, or of a branch or subsidiary, of, or the acquisition or extension of an interest in an Australian financial institution by a financial institution domiciled in Syria, a branch or a subsidiary, wherever located, of a financial institution domiciled in Syria, a financial institution, wherever domiciled, that is controlled by an entity or a person domiciled in Syria; and
  • the establishment, by a financial institution, of a joint venture, or a correspondent banking relationship, or a bank account, with a financial institution domiciled in Iran, a branch or a subsidiary, wherever located, of a financial institution domiciled in Syria, a financial institution, wherever domiciled, that is controlled by an entity or a person domiciled in Syria.


8.  Migration restrictions (regulation 6)

Various restrictions prohibit the entry or transit through Australia of nationals from North Korea, Former Yugoslavia, Iran, Libya, Syria, and Zimbabwe.

Some of these prohibitions relate to persons who are specifically declared by the Minister, or who have been assessed under specific criteria or under the Migration Regulations 1994, Regulation 2.43(1)(a)(i)(A) and Public Interest Criterion 4003(a).

Particular requirements apply to student visa applications from Zimbabwe – namely, all student visa applications from Zimbabwe are screened to identify whether any applicants were adult children of Zimbabwean individuals subject to Australian travel and financial sanctions. Applications so identified are referred to the Minister for Foreign Affairs for consideration as to whether their presence in Australia would be in Australia's foreign policy interests.

9.  Port restrictions (regulations 8, 16 & 17)

It is prohibited for a North Korean flagged vessel to enter into a port or place in Australia under the Maritime Transport and Offshore Facilities Act 2002. The Minister is expected to issue a legislative instrument under the Regulations designating particular vessels.

10.  Iranian specific Sanctioned Goods

Refer to Autonomous Sanctions (Export and Import Sanctioned Goods - Iran) Amendment Specification 2016.


The University of Western Australia

This Page

Last updated:
Friday, 17 June, 2016 9:16 AM