The University of Western Australia

United Nations Security Council sanctions

Ipsum Lorem

Further Information

Associate Director, Admissions


Compliance Assessment Checklist for Autonomous Sanctions:


United Nations Security Council Sanctions

In addition to Australia’s autonomous sanctions, the University must comply with sanctions which are imposed by the United Nations Security Council (UNSC).

Under the Charter for the United Nations Act 1945, UNSC sanctions are translated into Australian law through regulations enacted relevant to each sanctioned country, for example ‘Charter of the United Nations (Sanctions – Iran) Regulations 2008.

There are more countries subject to UNSC sanctions than are subject to autonomous sanctions. Conversely, some countries that are subject to autonomous sanctions are not subject to UNSC sanctions.

UNSC sanctions are currently in force in relation to the Ivory Coast, Democratic Republic of Congo, North Korea, Eritrea, Guinea-Bissau, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Russia, Crimea, Sevastopol, and the Al-Qaida and Taliban organisations.

More information is available from the DFAT website.


How is this relevant to the University? 

The University must comply with UNSC sanctions as they have been implemented in Australian law and accordingly form part of our legal compliance obligations.

Due to the new legal framework provided for under the Act and Regulations pertaining to Australian Autonomous Sanctions the University’s focus priority is on these because the Australian sanctions set significant penalties applicable for a breach.

Notwithstanding, it is recommended that staff maintain a general awareness of the relevant UNSC sanctions.


The University of Western Australia

This Page

Last updated:
Friday, 17 June, 2016 9:15 AM