The University of Western Australia

UWA Staff Profile

Ipsum Lorem

Barry Marshall

Professor Barry Marshall

Nobel Laureate
Pathology and Laboratory Medicine

Contact details
Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
The University of Western Australia (M504)
35 Stirling Highway
+61 8 6457 4815
+61 8 6457 4816
Room 2.14, L Block, QEII Medical Centre

The Marshall Centre for Infectious Diseases Research and Training

Contact details
The Marshall Centre for Infectious Diseases Research and Training
The University of Western Australia (M504)
35 Stirling Highway
+61 8 6457 4815
+61 8 6457 4816
Room 2.14, L Block, QEII Medical Centre, Nedlands
Professor Barry J Marshall with Professor Robin Warren showed that Helicobacter pylori is the main cause of stomach and duodenal ulcers. This discovery was the first step in developing more effective treatments for ulcers and in understanding the causative link between H. pylori and stomach cancer. In 2005, Prof Marshall and Prof Warren were awarded the world’s highest honour in science - the Nobel Prize for Medicine or Physiology.
Prof Marshall continues to treat patients with antibiotic resistant H. pylori infections and also leads a team undertaking varied research into the bacterium, from clinical microbiology through to genomics and systems biology. The Helicobacter Research Laboratory is located within the Marshall Centre for Infectious Diseases Research and Training of which he is a Director.
Key research
Profiling antibiotic resistance in H. pylori
Testing novel antibiotic compounds on H. pylori clinical isolates
Monitoring the cure rate of quadruple therapies against multi-drug resistant H. pylori strains
Genomic sequencing and analysis of bacterial genomes
The evolution of Helicobacter species
H. pylori toxin and regulatory genes
The effects of H. pylori on the immune system
Marshall BJ, Warren JR. Unidentified curved bacilli in the stomach of patients with gastritis and peptic ulceration. Lancet 1984; i: 1311-1315.

Marshall BJ, Armstrong JA, McGechie DB, Glancy RJ. Attempt to fulfill Koch's postulates for pyloric Campylobacter. Med J Aust 1985; 142:436-439.

Marshall BJ, Goodwin CS, Warren JR, Murray R, Blincow ED, Blackbourn SJ, Phillips M, Waters TE, Sanderson CR. A prospective double-blind trial of duodenal ulcer relapse after eradication of Campylobacter pylori. Lancet 1988; 2:1437-1442.
Forbes GM, Glaser M, Cullen D, Warren JR, Marshall B, Christiansen KJ, Collins BJ. Duodenal ulcer treated with Helicobacter pylori eradication: seven-year follow-up. Lancet 1994; 343(8892):258-60.

Marshall BJ. NSAIDs and Helicobacter pylori: therapeutic options. Lancet 1998; 352(9133):1001-3.

Viiala CH, Windsor HM, Forbes GH, Chairman SO, Marshall BJ, Mollison LC. Evaluation of a new formulation CLOtest. Journal of Gastroenterology and Hepatology 2002; 17:127-130.

Yoshan Moodley, Bodo Linz, Yoshio Yamaoka, Helen M. Windsor, Sebastian Breurec, Jeng-Yih Wu, Ayas Maady, Steffie Bernhoft, Jean-Michel Thiberge, Suparat Phuanukoonnon, Gangolf Jobb, Peter Siba, David Y. Graham, Barry J. Marshall, Mark Achtman. The Peopling of the Pacific from a Bacterial Perspective. Science 2009; 323:527-530

Tay CY, Windsor HM, Thirriot F, Lu W, Conway C, Perkins TT, Marshall BJ. Helicobacter pylori eradication in Western Australia using novel quadruple therapy combinations. Aliment Pharmacol Ther. 2012; 36(11-12):1076-83.

Linz B, Windsor HM, McGraw JJ Hansen LM, Gajewski JP, Tomsho, L, Hake, C, Solnick JV, Schuster SC, Marshal BJ. A mutation burst during the acute phase of Helicobacter pylori infection in humans and rhesus macaques. Nat. Commun. 2014; 5(4165).
Roles, responsibilities and expertise
• Ambassador for Life Sciences for Western Australia
• Clinical Professor of Medicine and Microbiology, UWA
• Director of the Marshall Centre for Infectious Diseases Research & Training, UWA
• Consultant Gastroenterologist, Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital
• Founder and Director of ONDEK, a biotechnology company
• Founder and Director of TRI-MED, a diagnostics company
• Member, Western Australian Technology and Industry Advisory Council
• Honorary Patron of Scitech, the Ear Science Institute and Fremantle Hospital Medical Research Foundation
• Honorary Patron of Warren Jones Institute for Community Health and Medical Research at Fiona Stanley Hospital
Future research
• Basic and applied medical research in Helicobacter
• Genomics and the evolution of Helicobacter
• Expert Patient Treatment System (EPTS) software application
• Establishment of a Helicobacter culture collection with linked genome and clinical data (e-bio bank)
• National Academy of Science
• Korean Academy of Science & Technology
• Australian Medical Association
• British Royal Society
• Institute of Medicine
• Australian Medical Association (WA)
• Australian Academy of Science
• Royal Australasian College of Physicians
• Australian Gastroenterological Society
• American College of Gastroenterology
• American Gastroenterological Association
• American Federation of Clinical Research
• Kitasato Institute Japan
Honours and awards
• China Friendship Award, China’s highest honour to foreign experts
• Elected as a Foreign Member of the Chinese Academy of Engineering
• Honorary Professor of following Chinese Universities: Shantou, Guangdong; Sichuan, Chengdu; Chinese University of Hong Kong; Third Military Medical University, Chongqing
• Honorary Degree of Doctor of Science, honoris causa, University of Oxford, UK
• Elected Foreign Member to the National Academy of Sciences (USA)
• Lennon K. Black Prize for Excellence in Biomedical Research, Jefferson College, USA
• Honorary Degree of Doctor of Science, honoris causa, Polish Academy of Medicine
• Silver Seal, University of Bologna, Italy
• Australian Centenary Medal
• ASMR Medal
• The Keio Medical Science Prize
• Inaugural Premier’s Prize for Achievement in Science, WA
• Prince Mahidol Award for Public Health
• Inducted as a Fellow of Australian Academy of Science
• Inducted as a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences
• Benjamin Franklin Medal for Life Science
• Buchanan Medal, The British Royal Society of Medicine
• Inducted as Fellow of the British Royal Society
• The Florey Medal, Australia
• The Gairdner Award, Toronto Canada
• The Albert Lasker Award

Awarded in conjunction with Dr J. Robin Warren
• Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine 2005
• Western Australian Citizen of the Year 2006
• Western Australian of the Year 2007
• Companion in the General Division of the Order of Australia (AC) in 2007.
• The Paul Ehrlich Prize 1997
• Warren Alpert Prize 1995
Useful links
Marshall Centre for Infectious Diseases Research and Training:

Helicobacter Research Laboratory:

Helicobacter forum:

Office of the Nobel Laureates in Western Australia:
Research profile
Research profile and publications

The University of Western Australia

This Page

Last updated:
Tuesday, 3 November, 2015 2:39 PM