The University of Western Australia

UWA Staff Profile

Ipsum Lorem

Cheryl Praeger AM FAA

Professor Cheryl Praeger AM FAA

Mathematics of Symmetry and Computation, Centre for the

Contact details
Centre for the Mathematics of Symmetry and Computation
The University of Western Australia (M019)
35 Stirling Highway
+61 8 6488 3344
+61 8 6488 1028
BSc Qld, MSc Qld & Oxf., DPhil Oxf., DSc W.Aust., Hon.DSc Prince of Songkla, Hon.DHC Libre de Bruxelles, AMusA
Professor Cheryl Praeger is an Australian Research Council Federation Fellow and Director of the Centre for Mathematics of Symmetry and Computation.

Professor Praeger received BSc and MSc degrees from the University of Queensland, a DPhil from the University of Oxford in 1973, and has received honorary doctorates from the Prince of Songkla University in Thailand in 1993 and the Universite Libre de Bruxelles in Belgium in 2005. Her research has focussed on the theory of group actions and their applications in Algebraic Graph Theory and for Combinatorial Designs; and algorithms for group computation including questions in statistical group theory and algorithmic complexity.

Prior to appointment at The University of Western Australia she held a Research Fellowship at the Australian National University and taught for a semester at the University of Virginia. She has taught in the Mathematics and Statistics program at UWA and was Head of the Department of Mathematics 1992-1994, inaugural Dean of Postgraduate Research Studies 1996-1998, Chair Promotions and Tenure Committee 2000-2004, Deputy Dean of the Faculty of Engineering Computing and Mathematics 2003-2006, and ARC Professorial Fellow 2007.

Professor Praeger is a member of the Order of Australia, Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science, Executive Committee member of the International Mathematical Union, member of the Australian Research Council College of Experts,foundation board member of the Australian Mathematics Trust, Chair of the Australian Mathematics Olympiad Committee,
former president of the Australian Mathematical Society, former Chair of the Australian Council of Heads of Mathematical Sciences, and was 2009 Western Australian Scientist of the Year.
The maximal factorizations of the finite simple groups and their automorphism groups, (with M.W. Liebeck and J. Saxl) Memoirs Amer. Math. Soc. 86, (1990), No. 432. ISSN 006509266.

Low rank representations and graphs for sporadic groups, (with L. H. Soicher), Australian Math. Soc. Lecture Series, Vol. 8, Cambridge University Press (1997). ISBN 0 521 56737 8 paperback. (Reviewed in Bull. London Math. Soc. 30, 1998, by Robert T. Curtis.)i

A generating function approach to the enumeration of matrices in classical groups over finite fields, (with Jason Fulman and Peter M. Neumann), Memoirs, Amer. Math. Soc. 176 (2005), No. 830. ISSN 0065-9266.

On regular subgroups of primitive permutation groups, (with M. W. Liebeck and J. Saxl) Memoirs Amer. Math. Soc. vol. 203, 2010, No. 952. ISSN 006509266.

more publications

Roles, responsibilities and expertise
Various Editorial positions:
Future research
Please delete
Please delete
Honours and awards
please delete
Previous positions
please delete
Research profile
Research profile and publications

The University of Western Australia

This Page

Last updated:
Tuesday, 3 November, 2015 2:39 PM