The UWA Historical Society

UWA Historical Society annual lecture 2013

Further Information

The Fly-out, Fly-in Professor

The fifth lecture in a series by UWAHS in association with the Convocation of UWA Graduates

Emeritus Professor Reg Appleyard AM
Tuesday 26 November 2013
5.00 pm – Join us at 4 pm for tea and cake
Junior Common Room, St George’s College, Crawley — see flyer map
UWA Water Sports Complex
By Friday 22 November to 0417 178 275

The Annual Lecture is the highlight of the Society’s year. Associate Professor of Economics Paul McLeod will chair a fireside presentation with colleagues of Professor Reg Appleyard AM. Join us in the St George’s College Junior Common Room (JCR) to hear about changes to university education and internationalisation during Professor Appleyard’s time as Head of UWA’s Department of Economics with his frequent visits to Europe for discussions with many UN and international committees. Guest speakers include:

  • Associate Professor Paul McLeod
  • Dr Rony Gabbay
  • Associate Professor Abu Siddique
  • Mr Mel Davies OAM
  • Dr Robin Ghosh
  • A R Krishnan

About Emeritus Professor Reg Appleyard AM

In 2010, a memorandum of understanding was made between The Convocation of UWA Graduates (Convocation) and the UWA Historical Society, each agreeing to abide by the principle of open communication and spirit of collaboration. At its formation, the UWAHS’ objectives included encouraging appreciation of UWA history among staff, students, graduates and the community, promoting and funding UWA projects of an historical nature, organising lecturers and encouraging historical displays.

Reg Appleyard was the inaugural President of UWAHS. He had been a mature age student in economics in the Faculty of Arts from 1950 to 1953. He then obtained MA and PhD degrees at Duke University (North Carolina) and returned to Australia in 1958 where for 10 years he held research appointments in economic demography at the ANU.

In 1968 he returned to UWA as Professor of Economic History, a position he held for 25 years, seventeen of which as head of the Department of Economics. During this period compulsory sections on theory, statistics and history were incorporated into the B.Ec degree. Informal contact was made with outside bodies such as CEDA (Committee for the Economic Development of Australia) and, in due course, formal contact with BHP Billiton, Wesfarmers and Woodside Petroleum. Internal programs were also developed in Japanese Studies, Middle East Studies and Migration and Development.

From the early 1970s Appleyard also became involved with the Geneva-based International Organization for Migration. He consulted many UN and international committees in Europe which, like IOM, were designed to support and assist developing countries. Being based at the University of Western Australia, he made frequent visits to Europe for discussions with officials of these organizations, hence the fly-out, fly-in appellation! Information obtained during those frequent discussions has confirmed significant change, including not only that university education is on the edge of complete change, but that UWA’s student body comprises thousands of international students, many of whom return and retain their links with UWA. 

About UWAHS Annual Lectures

The UWA Historical Society was launched by the Vice Chancellor Professor Alan Robson in October 2008 to encourage appreciation of University history amongst staff, students, graduates and the community. The inaugural Annual Lecture of the Society in association with Convocation was held in 2009. Guest speakers have included Robert French, Chief Justice of the High Court of Australia, Dr Sue Boyd, former diplomat and President of the Australian Institute of International Affairs (WA Branch), Emeritus Professor Don Watts, Director or WAIT and Vice Chancellor of Curtin University of Technology and Bond University, and Winthrop Professor Cheryl Praeger AM FAA, distinguished mathematician and past president of the Australian Mathematical Society, fellow of the Australian Academy of Science and Australian Research Council Federation, and member of the Order of Australia.

Event Gallery