Crawley Park House is significant as a rare surviving Colonial house dating from c. 1846 and as the initial element of the fabric of the University of Western Australia Crawley Campus in 1914. The place is historically and socially significant for its origins as a farming property purchased in 1831 and developed by Henry Sutherland, and later owned by George Shenton Jnr. Assistant Surveyor General Captain Currie had selected the land in 1829 at the time the official party was proceeding to the site selected for the Foundation of Perth.
Crawley Park is the name adopted by Sutherland in memory of his mother Maria Crawley. The name changed to Shenton House in 1963, reflecting the long association with the Shenton family.
Crawley Park House has been in use by the School of Mining and Engineering, Education, and then in 1988 as the Centre for Aboriginal Programs, now the School of Indigenous Studies.
This Walk will explore the history of the site and the house from the 1830s to 2012.